Windies Women end year on a low, England win fifth T20

West Indies Women’s year came to an unfortunate end on Thursday night at the Kensington Oval in Barbados after they were humiliated by England Women in a T20 match.

On a cool evening at the storied venue, West Indies failed to take advantage of a fine surface when batting first after being sent in.

They were dismissed after 16.2 overs for just 43 runs. Only teenager Djenba Joseph reached double figures for batters. She batted for 45 minutes, making 11 runs off 22 balls while remaining steadfast while wickets dropped all around her.

After a while, she gave up and skied a lofted drive effort, giving Nat Sciver her third capture. It was the first of Alice Davidson-Richards’ three wickets, and she finished with outstanding stats of 2-0-5-3.

Seamer Freya Davies, who took the crucial wickets of skipper Hayley Matthews (seven) and Rashada Williams early in the innings, was also deadly. At the conclusion of the innings, Davies came back to claim her third wicket, giving her final stats of 2.2-1-2-3.

Then, England sped to the target, scoring 44-2 off 5.3 overs to secure another another resounding victory. Nat Sciver scored 20 runs off of just 12 balls, including two powerful boundaries past midwicket.

With their fifth victory in the series, England solidified their superiority over the local team. They won the One-Day International Series at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua earlier in the tour by a score of 3-0.

West Indies will need to make strides forward when they travel to South Africa for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in six weeks, when they will play England once more in the preliminary round.

See also  Sha’Carri Richardson and the Jamaicans

On February 10, the opening match of the eighth iteration of the prestigious competition will feature hosts South Africa vs. Sri Lanka. The tournament matches will be played in Cape Town, Paarl, and Gqeberha, with the knockout rounds taking place there. It will take place on February 26.

The 10 teams will be divided into two groups, with Group 1 consisting of Bangladesh, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Australia, and New Zealand, and Group 2 including England, India, the West Indies, Pakistan, and Ireland.

Windies Women end year on a low, England win fifth T20

Scroll to Top