Call for founding fathers of Caricom to receive region’s highest award

Reginald Vidale, the chairman of the Dr. Eric Williams Memorial Committee, has urged that the Caribbean Community (Caricom) founders be posthumously awarded the region’s highest honour as it marks the 50th anniversary of the Treaty of Chaguaramas.

The prestigious Order of the Caribbean Community (OCC) is presented to outstanding Caribbean nationals who have made a phenomenal impact on the economic, political, social, and cultural development of Caribbean society.

The Caricom initiated an award at their eighth Conference of Heads of State and Governments in 1987, which has been bestowed since 1992.

In a wreath laying ceremony commemorating the 42nd anniversary of the passing of Trinidad and Tobago’s inaugural prime minister, Vidale proposed that the accolade should be extended to the past leaders of Barbados, Guyana, and Jamaica.

Caricom’s founding principles were highlighted by him, emphasising their significance across the Caribbean region.

On July 4, 1973, Caricom was established through the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas by Prime Ministers Errol Barrow, Forbes Burnham, Michael Manley, and Eric Williams, representing Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago, respectively.

See also  Barbados exchanges students and teachers with Jamaica again
Scroll to Top