Dominica Ruling party wins general election

Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit

Two independent candidates won seats in the 21-seat Parliament on Tuesday’s general election, which the main opposition political parties boycotted, but the ruling Dominica Labour Party (DLP) was re-elected. 

According to preliminary results made public by the local electoral office, the DLP, which entered the election having already won six seats without opposition, had won 19 of the 21 seats. According to the early results, Lynsia Framk of the DLP received 463 votes in the Salisbury seat against Jesma Paul’s 617, while Anthony Charles of the DLP defeated Gregory Riviere by a margin of 491 to 329 votes in Marigot. Carlos Charles, an independent, received six votes. 

After the two biggest opposition parties, the Dominica Freedom Party (DFP) and the United Workers Party (UWP), failed to field any candidates, the Electoral Office announced that voters would be choosing representatives for 15 seats. 

The DLP ran candidates for all 15 of the open seats, Team Unity Dominica ran candidates for five seats, and there were ten independent candidates, according to the Electoral Office. 

The six DLP candidates who were elected to Parliament without a vote, including the 50-year-old prime minister Roosevelt Skerrit, who has held the position since 2004, said they were pleased with the results.

Source: CMC

See also  Jamaica Government Committed To Fight Corruption
Scroll to Top